Home » Misik » Jillendru Oru Kadhal

Jillendru Oru Kadhal

Every time I come to Madras, I make it a point to watch at least one Tamil movie. And thanks to my friends, I’m never out of options. I hope to catch the movie, Jillendru Oru Kadhal when I go home next. I know the movie’s out and it’s a little day in the day to write a review for its audio. But I’ve been listening to the songs from this movie and I’m compelled to say something about Rahman’s music. ARR features on my list of favorites only after Illayaraja. In the typical ARR style, the songs in this movie grow on you, rather than making a striking first impression.

Munbe Vaa 4/5

This song takes you to a different time, place and mood. The voices of Naresh and Shreya Goshal blend so well with the feel of the song that it is difficult to picture someone else singing this song. Shreya’s tamil pronunciation is certainly improving with time. When she first started singing in tamil, she castigated the language so much that I wanted to cry. We don’t want people killing an already dying language. There’s something magical about Naresh’s voice that makes you want to listen to his songs over and over again till a point when you’re hopelessly captivated by that voice.

This song’s orchestration and rendition that makes me think about Ah aah. This is definitely a better version though.

Kummi Adi 4.5/5

This is my favorite song! In fact, it is this song that caught my attention first. It was this song that made me want to listen to the rest of the album. Swarnalatha sounds as brilliant as ever. The lyrics are so different and have a distinct Vaali stamp. Love it! Dr. Siva Chidambaram’s voice adds to the richness of the song. the best thing I like about this song is the orchestration, and the use of rhythm and voices. The thavil and nadhaswaram sound brilliant. It is releiving to find freshness in the nadhaswaram and thavil that were kinda becoming stale in ARR’s songs (remember Padayappa??). Naresh’s voice, with its perfect diction, sounds so different from his kind of songs. Very versatile voice indeed.

I so hope the director does justice to this song’s picturization.

New York Nagaram 4.5/5

The first time I heard this song, it did not create too much of an impression. In fact, I didn’t even think about it. But when I heard it for the second, third time, ARR’s voice just won over me. The opening of the song is easily the best. The guitar and ARR’s clear voice makes shivers run down your spine. Vaali’s lyrics again stand out.

The harmony, guitars and ARR’s voice makes me want to listen to an acoustic version of the song. Rahman, you should try that sometime!

Jillendru oru kadhal 4/5

This song is hilarious. I’m not sure if it’s meant to be. The first time I heard the song, I didn’t understand most of it(as in, the lyrics). It’s a bold attempt to include this jazzish number in the movie. Tanvi’s done a good job. Her voice speaks directly to you when you listen to this song. But tamil thaan konjam kandraviya iruku! It also kinda reminds you of Iruvar at places. The USP of this song is the voice, sax and the rhythm.

When I listen to this song, the image of a bunch of girls wearing the 70’s style bell bottom pants, dancing with hats and walking sticks flashes in my mind. Let’s see what the director had in mind!

Machakari 3/5

Shaker Mahadevan’s managed to paint the perfect picture once again. This number, though it reminded me of “some song I seemed to have heard somewhere,” I like freshness and the energy in the singers’ voice. Vasundara Das needs to be a little more adventurous with her choice of songs.

Majja Majja 2/5

Majja majja puts me to sleep. I have nothing to mention about this song. Unfortunately, the magic of Kadhal Sadugudu was not recreated for SPB Charan.

Maaricham 2.5/5

This songs needs to grow on you. The female lead is brilliant! The male lead was not up to the mark. His counterpart completely over-shadows him. It’s kinda weird that someone calls out “Gautam” in the middle of the song. again, another song that was a little disappointing.

That is Jillendru Oru Kadhal. I wouldn’t say this is ARR’s best work, but these song will definitely be on this year’s chartbusters.

6 thoughts on “Jillendru Oru Kadhal

  1. yay! Me first 😀

    I think as a compilation, Kakka Kakka scores above most others in recent times. That said, I haven’t jived to “Jillendru Oru Kadhal” (what a whacky name!!??) yet.

    I was recently most impressed by Ilayaraja’s “Paadariyaen Padippariyaen” of the Sindu Bhairavi fame. I am catching up you see :p

    This post is mucho nice

  2. Here you go
    Handful_of_Hell@yahoo.com.

    Thanks for the offer. That’s very kind of you, especially when all streaming media is banned around here!! 😦

    Also I prefer Khaitan and Crompton Greaves, no Polar or USHA please. Just in case, you see :p

Leave a Reply

