When I was a kid, I used to fall down and hurt myself all the time while playing. But I never gave it more than a passing glance. There was only enough time to brush the sand off and get back to the game. I didn’t want to miss any of the fun. There was always time later to worry about the wound and the scar. Actually, I liked looking at my scars cos they fascinated me. It was almost like the shape of each scar was trying to sketch a story. When the wound starts healing the scar forms a definite shape and then, the story was etched, for eternity.
Everytime I tried meddling with a raw wound, my mother slapped my hand away and told me to leave it alone. She said it would heal with time. But I didn’t have the heart to let the game go by without me in the meanwhile. She would bathe the wound and bandage it for me, she said. But I didn’t want to be seen with a big bandage. It was too sissy. The moment she was out of sight, the loving bandage would be ripped right off. Ouch! Thats when it hurt a little bit. Maybe I’ll wear a longer skirt today and hide it. I was careful not to limp and run faster than everyone else.
One day, perhaps, I will sit and count all the scars in my body while they recount their stories and we would laugh and rejoice about that wonderful time called childhood.

20 thoughts on “

  1. Aaha orey the senti bit-u?!

    I liked the smell of dettol… and so though the scrape would be stinging like hell, I’ll be trying to somehow drink a couple of drops of dettol water!!

    LKS

  2. Anon > Thanks πŸ™‚

    Arun > ippdi ellam kelvi kekka solli unakku yaar solli thara?

    LKS > Senti thaan πŸ™‚
    I’ve also tried that.. but I always felt like it needed to be sweeter!

  3. such is childhood…even scars are precious. πŸ™‚

    tis funny to be reminded, of how my childhood fuzz over bandages has evolved into happy sporting of a spongebob band-aid now! πŸ˜€

  4. πŸ™‚ fond memories.. me too used ot do the same.. the moment whn i am sure no one is watching, i will start removing the bandege… πŸ™‚

  5. you know reading this post reminds me of ‘daag acchhe hain’. true, there are a lot of memories hidden in the craziest of places. even scars.
    yours
    MCP πŸ˜›

  6. eeks… I hated wounds, and hated any smell of medicine and doctors. Still hate them… Morons… The whole lot of them.

  7. nice and realistic posts…
    the time once passed will not get back but the memories are immortal…

    for me…getting hurt and showing that i got no pain was like being a terminator(arnold)..

    and i always was facinated by the comments passed on me by my elders..”how strong this kid is!!!!”…

    and the lil pain which was there would disappear…!!!!

    thanks…your post brought my memories back…

  8. I second Arun.. wht sort of game involves more of falling down and hurting than the game itself? Chess??

    One game we used play was called “Mudhugu Puncture”.. its like you are supposed to hit opposing team players on their back with rubber ball..dare devil game!

  9. hi, i saw your comment on saapaturaami, that you used a similar service in hyderabad. I live in hyderabad, and sick and tired of the boring food. would you have some details of the aunty to share?

    sorry for bothering you this way

  10. Maverick > I guess πŸ™‚

    Mayo > yes yes, the waterproof varieties πŸ™‚

    xh, Pri > thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

    vinni > the daag acche hai reminds me of chilhood romance, that’s another post πŸ™‚

    pseudonym > I hate them too!

    idrish > thanks

    Prashanth > oru group-a thaan ya kalabirikeenga ippadi ellam kelvi kekka..

    I’ve played mudhugu puncture. There’s also another slightly less painful version of it called leg hit, which is when you target only the legs. I used to be on the street all the time!

    Mallikarjuna > send me your email address and I’ll forward the details to you

  11. Yebbba! You sound so much like my brother who often falls in love with his wounds.. He once got his skin peeled off from his leg, and kept narrating how ‘cool’ it looked before he got it covered.

    Vaal pasanga

  12. Believe me, i don’t belong to this particular kelvi kekura group but still….i am wondering, very seriously, what game did u play?… that made u make such strategic plans of wearing long skirts instead od short one?!

  13. Victorious > yeah, that’s us πŸ™‚

    Solitaire > that’s what this post was about πŸ™‚ the random stories came back to haunt me one day!

    Ela > romba literal-a eduthukka koodadhunga πŸ™‚

  14. well written man- jus a few lines, but so powerful they’ve etched an emotional scar in ma mind :).

    scars really do tell a story- every story is a great story to tell ya lil’ unz and their lil’ unz..

    didn’t wanna look sissy- buhahahahaa..
    ya know wen i was lil’ n even now, i like to show off bandages and plasters- thought it was pretty kewl πŸ™‚
    used to love those florescent bandages,,

    another observation: i love men with scars- it makes them look macho, sexy, elusive and raw..
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

