Home » Ramblings » Kismat connection!

Kismat connection!

Street shopping has a certain unique kick and joy involved. Its for people who don’t mind the sun, dirty roads, wading through lots of crap to find one good item to purchase, haggling and most of all pushing their way through crowds. All the sweating and the haggling gives you feeling of satisfaction at the end of the purchase, that’s often lost in big shops. I’m not very fond of large gatherings of people in general. But one situtation when I’m almost always willing to compromise on that rule is when I know shopping is involved. People talk about how great street shopping is in cities like Bombay and Calcutta. I totally agree. People like me go mad there. I end up buying things I either have absolutely no use for or something that would seem completely ridiculous to me when I get back home and look at it. This is of course, in spite of buying n other things that I completely adore. The last time I was in Bombay, the money I shopped for on the streets could’ve bought me another flight ticket to go back there. I’m not saying its a bad thing. When you’ve faced this as often as I have, you just learn to live a poor life till the next salary kicks in. So I resolved to indulge in street shopping the next time with just about enough money to buy something only if I absolutely loved or felt the pressing need for it at that point in time.

Last week, K and I decided to go to T Nagar and spend an afternoon shopping. T Nagar doesn’t have as much variety as Bombay but its still enough to give me a kick to last an entire weekend.

We were walking down along this pavement

And this is what caught my eye

My Karma is catching up on me!

16 thoughts on “Kismat connection!

  1. Ha ha ha.. babe!!! Hang on to your socks…

    Because when I’m back we Will hit Pondy Bazaar, (and maybe Luz) like there’s no tomorrow..

    There’s nothing quite like a pair of earrings for fifteen bucks!!!

  2. They also have a catch mostly, I saw one similar shop when I was there.

    They swipe the card only if yor purchase is above 100. Now what can you buy in a pottukadai for 100? Clever business I say…

  3. Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog β€˜An effort to understand life.. its complexities, niceness and all’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. πŸ™‚

    Cheers,

  4. Hey gayatri.. have been goin thru ur blog since a couple of weeks now. Pretty interestin stuffin there. Gud work.. BTW I think u shd book a button on http://www.blogertize.in iunder the “Lifes like that” segment. Ur blog seems to be perfect for that segment πŸ˜‰
    Cheerz and keep up the gud work

  5. Even in Nilgiri, sometimes they dont take the card for less than 200/-
    I love roamin around for books in Luz and pondy bazar for that jwellery, but the weather is a spoil sport now a days.

  6. Hey nice post. Your adwords ads however still took me to your blogspot blog. If you change the ad settings maybe readers will land up here directly instead of there πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

