Home » Uncategorized » Domestication..

Domestication..

Last Saturday, I went to the Chennai Book Fair with my parents. They were very excited with the whole thing cos the stalls that sold English books were unfairly outnumbered by the Tamil ones. I don’t read Tamil books. (My Tamil’s not fast enough to read books and I get impatient very fast). So here’s what I ended up buying:

  • Pure & Simple Homemade Indian Vegetarian Cusine by Vidhu Mittal
  • 200 Classic Lunch recipes by Mallika Badrinath
  • 50 Great Tiffins by Master Chefs of India
  • Iyer Kitchen by Master Chefs of India

And oh,

  • A Dilbert comic book (the only silver lining)

But I must say, reading cookery books is very interesting. I say reading cos I haven’t yet reached the trying them out stage. Still venturing into lesser known (not unknown) waters you see. I’m still mentally marking the doable recipes and scratching out the undoable ones. And also, I love the photographs!

Sometimes, I amuse myself πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Domestication..

  1. Sometimes i feel i should start cooking again like i used to when i was in college but then…. laiziness eventually wins! πŸ˜›

    you should cook and you should take yummy food pictures. is that incentive enough??

  2. I have the first book, Simply South πŸ™‚ I have even posted a few recipes from it on my blog. Its good authentic stuff. And I can’t wait to get more during my next visit to Chennai, especially Mallika Badrinath. Her recipes are fool-proof!

    do you have her earlier book, dakshin?? how is that one, any idea?

  3. Mallika Badrinath – Best book to fall back on–Simple n easy cookin man!

    So cookin unknown territory huh? Trust me on this, more than the cooking it the” deciding what to cook” which is more frustu.

    deciding what to cook is an issue only if you can make that many things. When you start out at least, its pretty much just what you can make decently on rotation!

  4. it’s always nice to take a receipe book and look at the pixs when one is extremely hungry and lazy…

    hehe! nice way to jollu vittify at yummy food without having to go through the ordeal of making it πŸ˜€

  5. Aah, I was just going to say Nags has Chandra Padmanabhan’s book. Mallika Badrinath is awesome.

    Oh get Samithu Paar also. It has all the Bhakshanam. And if your mother in law suddenly decides you have to make murukku – it has it all πŸ™‚



    I’m getting Samaithu par also. The book fair didn’t have it in english. So will have to buy that from somewhere else! murukku is currently not even on my radar but yeah i know what you mean πŸ˜€

  6. i see plenty of scope for kitchen experiments turning into hilarious posts!

    3yrs exp here, want tips?

    as long as they don’t end with one of us throwing our guts up i guess it will be funny πŸ˜› please to be giving me all the tips and tricks you can pass on πŸ˜€

  7. book fairs are always my favorite outings, and i always end up buying books that i dont read, or use!
    in any case…pass on interestin recipes if u see any! we’re all in need of somethingmore than bread and butter!

    i will πŸ™‚ in fact, I already have!

  8. Reading cooking blogs has been one of my fave. pastimes since I stumbled upon One Hot Stove. That and watching sanjeev K’s Khana Khazana. But thats abt it. The interest has just abt started to come in. Must tell u abt the Adai episode befoe Ram gets a chance!

    I actually heard about it already, but I promise to believe your version πŸ™‚

  9. I don’t enjoy cooking as much, but I had been to the same fair and had got these, my first ever.

    Hitchhiker’s guide to galaxy is one of my all time fav books! Tell me how you like it πŸ™‚

  10. Its just that u’ve got a nice thing going here but hardly any comments.
    So my curiosity got better of me;-P.

    lol! that’s such an honest remark. But I don’t have any answer! πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: When somethings change beyond recognition.. « An effort to understand life.. its complexities, niceness and all

Leave a Reply

