Home » Uncategorized » Bread upma and a blade video

Bread upma and a blade video

This is definitely a dear diary moment. Me putting up a recipe on my blog! There was left over bread at home from the breakfast I made for my sister yesterday (Baked beans and bread, I might as well show off completely while I’m at it, right). So, today’s evening tiffin was Bread Upma. No one in my family is a big fan of bread. So, my only memory of how this should taste is what I had at my Periamma’s house a couple of years ago. So Anoop, this is how I made it ๐Ÿ™‚

I used:

3 slices of bread – tear it up into li’l pieces
2 tomatoes – finely chopped
1 onion – finely chopped
2 green chillies – finely chopped
Little ginger – peeled, chopped and slightly crushed
Mustard seeds and jeera for tempering
1/2 a tspn of Sambar powder
1/2 a tspn of Garam masala
Salt to taste

What Followed:

Heat about 1 tspn of Ghee with 1 tbspn of cooking oil and when it heats up, add mustard seeds and jeera. Follow it up with skined, crushed ginger (according to taste) and green chillies. After the mustard seeds crackle, add the onion, Garam masala powder and Sambar powder. It will be slightly dry at this stage. So add little water. When the raw smell disappears, add the tomatoes and saute. After a min, add the bread pieces and salt to taste. Mix thoroughly and leave on for a min or two.

I also added grated Cheese after turning off the gas and left it closed for a couple of minutes for the cheese to melt. How can anything with cheese not be yummy.

Unfortunately, we (my cousin and I) ate all of it up before I even thought of blogging it. So no picture ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Following up with the recent blade movies that’ve come out, I watched Silambattam. I don’t think its even worth writing a review for. Watch this video and you’ll probably understand what I’m talking about.

If there’s a Padmashree for dialog writers, it must go to the one who wrote dialogs for this movie (don’t know who it is).

Just because you’re white,
Not everything you say is right!
wah wah wah

One more,

You want to brew beer
For me, my land and people are dear
I will fight you out without any fear
Am I clear

I have only one response, durai ingleesh indhi ellam pesudhu
pongada neengalum unga cinemavum!

11 thoughts on “Bread upma and a blade video

  1. It is indeed the arrogance and luxury of youth when you see a recipe which starts with ghee and ends with cheese. *sigh

    Good one! ๐Ÿ™‚ Not the video :p

    lol! I actually laughed out loud when I read your comment! I’ll come to you very soon for the healthy recipes ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. dialogues ellam TR aa?

    @rads: donno why but i love how ur comment sounds!



    I don’t think its TR at least in this movie. I only dialog I like in this video is Santhanam saying, Finger inside, body shaking ๐Ÿ˜€ and I agree with you about rads’ comment!

  3. to tell you the fact, barring the last crazy fight it was much better than Villu and padikathavan…

    My mom always made bread upma when I complained that I was bored of cheese sandwiches…



    No man, I found the entire Simbhu’s purohitar part very irritating. It was very uwaack. I haven’t seen padikathavan, so can’t comment. Maybe I should ๐Ÿ˜›

    do you make bread upma any differently??

  4. Bread Upma is one dish with n number of versions. So far I have tried at least 6 types of bread upmas..Maybe someday I’ll put up all ๐Ÿ˜€

    yours sounds interesting (esp the part of adding Sambhar masala in a upma…i also do such masala mixing in all kinda dishes)

    send me the compiled link!!

  5. First timer here & a cancerian too !!
    Bread Upma./.absolutely nostalgic & magical..its decades since I tasted one..In my home they used to add small slices of boiled potato & green peas. It used to taste great
    Can I blog roll you
    TC
    CU



    Oh, that also sounds like a nice addition though I’m not too fond of peas. and hey, you can most definitely blogroll me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

