Home » Being married » When somethings change beyond recognition..

When somethings change beyond recognition..

Its been so long since I last logged into WordPress that the new interface took me totally by surprise. (how long has it been like this for??) Since I last posted, the being married novelty has also kinda passed. No one inviting us over anymore for food. In fact, we had one of RC’s newly married friends and her husband over for dinner. Our dinner, was of course, nothing like any of the lunches we went to.

So, after all that “newly married” pampering, I suddenly found myself sitting at home, alone, for the most part, with nothing to do. I was in a new city where I knew almost no one. Well, almost no one who was jobless and who wanted to hang out with me. I read like I used to when I was back in college. Almost constantly through the day. But I was fast running out of new things to do everyday. So I started cooking. I diligently cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner every single day. I made something new, tried out something RC or I liked (its never and). I’m happy to report that I’ve thoroughly used every single cookbook I bought then. I’ve actually grown to quite like cooking. Yes, I still say that with a shudder. It completely amazes me.

I lived in Hyderabad for 3 years. We didn’t even have a stove for 2 and half years. We had an electric kettle to boil water, for cup noodles, of course. But that was it. Kitchen had a fridge, a few plates and cups, bottles (ahem) and a puja shelf. My mom tried very very hard to get me to make at least curd rice for dinner and failed miserably. After all that, I made Rajma chawal for her when she came to Bombay (what a fun weekend!), and she fell off the chair! Understandably so. Actually, my mother is still in shock.

RC, of course, has been the perfect husband and made all the oohs and aahs and has not complained at all. He deserves a pat on his back.

So does marriage make a culinary enthusiast out of a woman? Nah, unemployment does and very effectively so.

19 thoughts on “When somethings change beyond recognition..

  1. More than unemployment, the surest way to cook yourself is penury. That was what made me learn cooking when I landed on this shores. When you know that with every meal you have outside you meager bank balance is going to be more meager, you start cooking.

  2. Yes, when we come to Mumbai, samachu podu!

    But I am with LKS. Cooking came naturally not only because of meager bank balance but also because you cannot stand the “varatu varatu nu oru bread” for long.

  3. Uh-huh. Beenmarried, unemployed, worked, am a mom now..cooking still doesnt do it for me.

    Eating ..now that is an entirely diff.story πŸ™‚

  4. You did not keep anything in Hyderabad because Google did it all for you; and its good to see you getting domesticated anol!
    Married, cook and now web marketing expert? πŸ˜‰

  5. heh, it’s funny but I thought this didn’t happen anymore. I did soem srange things like cooking delicious meals too. Then it passes off, don’t worry. πŸ™‚

    this gave me a fable idea for a tweet:

    all in jest ma πŸ™‚

  6. What can I say? I remember those noodley-kettle, rohan family dhabha days and I am ‘super’ glad the story has taken a beautiful turn.

  7. yes, its difficult if u dont hav basic cooking knowledge. then every cooking u do becomes an adventure nothing less than climbing Mt. Everest.

  8. Lovely post!

    p/s: We would like to invite all of you to join our blogging community which helps you to get more visitors to your blogs. It’s totally free and you get the chance to meet other celebrity bloggers. Visit us at IMCurtain

  9. Well, if you remember well i tasted your cooking first’u in this list’u. Bisi bela bath remember? Hee hee! Either i have fantastic immunity against toxic nuclear waste or your mum cooked and you lied you did πŸ˜›

  10. //I lived in Hyderabad for 3 years. We didn’t even have a stove for 2 and half years. We had an electric kettle to boil water, for cup noodles, of course. But that was it. Kitchen had a fridge, a few plates and cups, bottles (ahem)//

    hehehe.. all world same same.. :))

    but i have the microwave instead of ele kettle to boil water for instant noodle and ready to cook upma mix.. :))

Leave a Reply

