Home » advertisement » Old ads

Old ads

These old Nescafe ads triggered off some good memories of advertisements from the pre-cable days. We used to look forward to the ads more than the actual programs. I remember, when my sister was about 1 or 2 years old, she was a very fussy eater. My mom had a very tough time trying to get her to open her mouth for food. Of the many many techniques devised by my parents to distract her, the most effective was advertisements. My mom used to shoveful food in her mouth while she was totally absorbed in the ad blissfully oblivious of everything around here. Because, we couldn’t wait for ad breaks to feed her, my dad recorded a video casette of advertisements on our VCR!

I’ve posted some of my favorite ads here. Get ready to smile!

I’ll start with my most favorite one! I think everyone who’s seen this ad, loves the jingle. There is an extended version of this ad, which I was unable to find.

I remember this complan ad’s jingle much better in Tamil where Ayesha Takia says “naan valargirene, mummy.” This was one of those super famous like “kalakare chandru!” ๐Ÿ™‚

This ad is evergreen for 2 reasons, the ARR’s jingle and the oh-so-yummy Arvind Swamy. It is after this ad that Mani Ratnam is supposed to have picked both ARR and Arvind Swamy for Roja. There is a newer version of this ad with Andrea and Radio Mirchi Shiva which doesn’t have the charm of the original.

I remember this old ad that used to be used around pongal! I watched this ad today after many many years but I remember the exact sequence including the surprised expression on the mother’s face when she sees the son ๐Ÿ™‚ I just found out that the jingle for this ad has been done by ARR. This jingle has been sung by Malaysia Vasudevan and if you listen closely, it sounds like Then Kizhakku Seemayila from Kizhakku Seemayile!

This ad I think was the first one in the series of Dad-daughter wedding gift ones. And I also think this is the sweetest.

Hamara Bajaj, one of their most memorable campaigns

This was Aishwarya Rai’s big break. I think this is also her first Pepsi commercial. And Aamir Khan can’t look any yummier. And my sister’s name is Sanju ๐Ÿ˜€

There is an entire series of Cadbury’s ads in my list of favorites. This one tops it! I LOVE this girl!

Another extremely sweet Dairy Milk one!

Yet another classic Dairy Milk one!

I love the cheek and glee on Priety Zinta’s face!

Tell me who doesn’t remember this jingle, or this drink for that matter? I want to drink Gold Spot ๐Ÿ™‚

There is another ad, I totally was in love with but couldn’t find anywhere – Namma Ooru vandi, TVS Excel! Can anyone send it to me, if you have it?

These ads totally made my day! I hope they bring a smile to your face too ๐Ÿ™‚

Are any of your old time fav ads missing here?

13 thoughts on “Old ads

  1. Love, love, love them! I love watching old ads, vande maataram, baje sargam, saare jahaan se accha and mile sur tumhara and all kinds of stuff! This just hit the spot ๐Ÿ˜€

    And those Cadbury’s ads! Lovely!

  2. wow! You just about summed up all the great ads of the past! the complan kid if I am not wrong is Shahid Kapoor. There was one ad which I still would call one of my favs, Bajaj Caliber the unshakeable.

  3. Hey, I came here to answer your query at BC and got so caught up with these!! LOVE them:), esp. kya swad hai zindagi mein. Oh! As for the query, I know that a brandy soaked towel wrapped around the pudding will keep it well if kept in an airtight container in a dark place. After that I think it is better to transfer it to the refrigerator and keep it out a day before you need to use it. The alcohol will age as well as preserve it.

  4. Hey, those are cute old ads. Haha, those were the days manโ€ฆ Jam sandwiches, Phantom Comics, Big Fun chewing gumโ€ฆ where the only worry in the world was finishing homework fast so I could go and play. Speaking of old adsโ€ฆDo you remember that ancient Sil Jam ad where the guy acts like a bacha when his bread and jam were taken away? Those ads were so simple yet brilliant! It left a great impression on us and recently when I saw their new adโ€ฆit brought back memories from over 10 years ago!

  5. OMG the way you describe the way your sis being a fussy eater, it was the exact same situation with me when I was little. Believe i or not my folks were actually planning to tape some commercials like you said. And also ‘Chitrahaar’ was supposed to be a real good time to feed me since the frequency of ads during the show was pretty high ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

