Home » Uncategorized » Chocolate Meringue cupcakes – Sweet Punch – Jan challenge

Chocolate Meringue cupcakes – Sweet Punch – Jan challenge

I have been a part of the Sweet Punch Challenge basically since it
started. But I’ve not posted any of the challenges online obviously
because I was off blogging then. Now that I am, here it is for all of
you to see 🙂

First of all, I have a confession to make. I’m petrified of food
photography. Just cos there are so many brilliant ones out there. I
had this huge mental blog that prevented me from even attempting to
click food. I’m trying to get over that block. Suggestions for
improvement are welcome!

Moving on to the challenge, Jan’s theme was Meringues. I had
heard/read quite a bit about them but had never attempted them before.
Also, I had never eaten them. So my reference point was only what I
had read. Which is quite a bit of challenge for me ‘cos I work largely
from taste. Even baking! I’m not your religiously weighing sort of a
baker. I work largely by feel. But even that I do with discretion cos
I’ve had some baking disasters 🙂

We had to choose between a meringue cake and a meringue cookie. I
chose to do a chocolate meringue cake. But with just 2 of us, baking a
whole cake seemed like a little too much. So I halved the recipe and
made chocolate cupcakes with meringue toppings. The original links are
provided at the end of this post.

Here’s how I made it

10 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used salted butter)
1 cup hazelnuts (I used walnuts)
3/4 cup firmly packed light-brown sugar
6 large whole eggs, separated (for the cupcake)
4 large egg whites (for the meringue)
12 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled, plus 4 ounces
roughly chopped (I didn’t the entire quantity req of bitter chocolate.
So I used a mix of bitter and milk chocolate for the cupcake and only
white chocolate for the meringue)
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon cornstarch (I used cornflour and just enough to coat)
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 cup superfine sugar

(I halved this recipe and got 10 cupcakes and 12 meringues)

1. Preheat oven to 180 deg Celsius.

2. If you’re using muffin trays, butter and flour them. I used silicon
muffin moulds that don’t need any preparation and are hassle free!

3. Spread the walnuts in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet.
Toast until fragrant. It should take 10 to 15 minutes. Let cool;
roughly chop. Set aside.

4. To make the cupcake batter, cream butter and brown sugar until pale
and smooth. About 2 mins or so. Add egg yolks, one at a time, beating
well after each addition, until mixture is light and fluffy. Add
melted chocolate, vanilla, and rum, if using; beat until combined. Set
aside.

5. In another bowl, combine the egg whites and a pinch of salt and
beat on high speed until soft peaks form, about 2 minutes. Stir
one-third of the egg whites into chocolate mixture. Fold in remaining
beaten egg whites just until combined. Pour batter into prepared pan,
and bake 25 minutes.

6. While that is baking, you can make the meringues. Combine walnuts,
chopped chocolate, and cornstarch just enough to coat the two in a
small bowl, and set aside. Place the remaining egg whites and cream of
tartar in a clean mixer bowl; using a clean whisk attachment, beat on
high speed until frothy. With mixer running, slowly add superfine
sugar; continue beating until stiff peaks form, about 8 minutes. Fold
in nut-chocolate mixture.

7. Remove cupcakes from the oven. Using an icing knife or a big spoon,
spread the meringue mixture on top of the cupcakes, and return to
oven.

9. Bake until meringue is lightly browned and crisp, 25 to 30 minutes.
Transfer pan to a wire rack; let stand 10 minutes. If you’re using
silicon cupckae moulds, the cupcakes should come out very easily. Let
cool, about 30 minutes if you have the patience to. I didn’t. So I had
one piece hot from the oven and it was heaven!!


My notes:

1. The cupcake was a little wet but I didn’t mind it cos it was a
wonderful contrast to the crisp and dry meringue.

2. You can also try variations of just the meringue which is wonderful
just by itself. If you’re doing that, you can use a pipping bag and
just drop it ugly big lumps like mine 😛

3. Since I used white chocolate, I should’ve cut down the sugar (which
I didn’t) so it turned out to be a little over sweet, which is good in
a way, cos then you can’t eat too many of the meringues.

Meringue cake: Joy of Baking
Chocolate Meringue cake: Martha Stewart
Meringue Mushrooms: Joy of Baking 

You can read about my experiments with food here

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Meringue cupcakes – Sweet Punch – Jan challenge

  1. We’ve never been successful with the meringue! So good to see these pics and these pics look great di :)Love the food blog. Next time we talk, remind me to add it on Reader?

  2. looks like its come out super well, and the notes are very helpful. i couldn’t bake it over the last month but definitely plan to try it soon!

Leave a Reply

