Home » Uncategorized » afterlife

afterlife

I’ve wanted to do this since I was 16. But I didn’t want people to think that I was suicidal or that I had lost the will to live. More importantly, internet didn’t exist then (at least for me the way it does today). A few things I want to say before I start, if you want to say things like “awww, hugs..” or “I hope everything’s ok with you..” pls don’t. 

There have been a few instances in my life when I didn’t know if tomorrow would exist for me. But luckily for me, most of these moments happened when I was too young to “understand” the concept of dying. The ones that happened when I was old enough to fear death, thoroughly shook me up. I’ve lain awake many nights wondering what would happen if i ceased to exist the next day. Would I feel any pain? Would I miss my body? Would I miss the people I love? Would I even know the difference? I don’t know the answer to any of these. But that’s not the point of this post. There are a few things I would want people around me to do for me if something happens to me. Who knows, I might even be able to watch them.

Don’t cry for me. Actually, cry a little but move on. Give away all my things to those who need it. Including my gadgets. Please don’t give away my books. Keep them cos reading is not an inexpensive hobby. Pass them on to family and friends who would value them. Don’t put up my pictures anywhere. You will remember my face for as long as you’re meant to and then I’ll fade away. And that’s the way it should be. Just because I’m not there anymore, doesn’t mean you can dig into my personal stuff. Don’t read through my notebooks or diaries. I there’s something in it you should know, you already would. Stop including me in all your conversation. Tam brahms have thing of a yearly devasam on every death anniversary. To me, all that includes is lots of cooking and unnecessary stress involved for the people doing it. So I would prefer it if you would feed some kids in an orphanage instead of some already overfed sastrigals. After you do that, go and have a drink for me and smile.

 

One thought on “afterlife

  1. Agree with most of what you said. Except for the talking about me bit. Nuh-huh, for me it is, feel free to include me/think of me in ALL your words,thoughts and acrions 😀 But then again, selflessness isnt one of my virtues.

Leave a Reply

