Home » Uncategorized » Oatmeal lemon cookies (Eggless)

Oatmeal lemon cookies (Eggless)

I had some Quaker oats sitting at home that I wanted to use up and around the same time, a conversation with Nandu put the idea of baking an oatmeal cookie in my head. I have made some Oatmeal Apricot cookies in the past and I wasn’t too kicked with the way it turned out. I guess the overpowering flavour of the oats is what put me off. (explains why I had the oats sitting at home for so long :P) So, this time, I wanted to make something that added that zing to the oaty flavour. That’s how I landed up making these lovely Oatmeal Lemon Cookies and they’re eggless!


Here’s how I made it
(yields about 10 cookies)
  • 1/4 cup Amul butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoons curd
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup plain/all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup oats

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Beat together the butter and sugar. I was too lazy to use my beater so I just used a normal whisk and beat it properly for 2 mins or so. Add the curd, lemon zest and juice and beat some more. Sift together the flour, baking powder & soda. Fold in to the wet mixture.

Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls on greased cookie sheets. Bake 20 minutes, or until golden around edges. Cool 2 minutes in the oven and place on wire racks to cool completely.

My notes:

 

1. These are chewy and soft cookies and not hard. That seemed to put off my husband who’s not a fan of soft cookies. So, if you’re also like that, guess this one’s not for you but I urge you to please try it ‘cos the flavour will win you over! 

2. When you beat in the curd and the lemon juice, the mixture might seem curdled but its fine. when you add the dry ingredients to it, it will all be fine.

3. There are many variations possible in this cookie. Like the original recipe suggests, you can use orange juice instead of lemon juice. I’m sure even a spiced version of this cookie with either nutmeg (original suggestion) or cinnamon. 

Recipe adapted from here

 

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal lemon cookies (Eggless)

  1. look great! We have been looking to tie up with someone to provide baked desserts with our tiffins…. do let us know if you know anyone around Mumbai who might be interested! 🙂

  2. If you don’t like the overpowering flavor of oats, blend them until like flour. This would also give you the crunchy texture and look like butter biscuits/snickerdoodles. I make these all the time – literally every alternate weekend.

  3. Hello,We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com. We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,enjoy your recipes. Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already membersand benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com. To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on "Add your site" Best regards, Vincentpetitchef.com

Leave a Reply

