Home » Uncategorized » Easy Apple Salad

Easy Apple Salad

Life has been nomadic last few months. I'm between houses right now. Even though the place I'm staying at right now is gorgeous, its not home. Primarily because, most of stuff (esp. kitchen stuff) is still in boxes. I haven't baked in over 2 months now cos my oven is also packed and in line to be moved to the new house. I also can't find my DSLR's charger. I'm almost certain in one of 4 boxes that I packed my knick-knacks in. But, its too much effort to go through them all and repack them. The lazy bum in me found a work around for that and I've been shooting on film for the last couple of months. Again, totally loving it, but I want my DSLR back.

I haven't been cooking very regularly and guilt strikes every so often and I try to get back on track. This is one of those things I just threw in together for breakfast and turned out to be really tasty. I apologise for the quality of the picture. I shot it on my husband's iPhone. Not bad for a phone cam, I must say.??

One morning, I was craving some Waldorf salad (out of no where!) and made this as a low cal substitute.??

Here's how I made it.

2 apples – cut into bite size pieces
2-3 tablespoons of yogurt (enough to coat the apples)
10-12 almonds
juice of half a lemon
a pinch of salt

Toast the almonds until fragrant. You can do this either on stove top or in the oven. If on stove top, take the almonds in a small pan and keep shifting them around until they get the dark brown shade and their fragrance fills in the room. If you're doing it in the oven, toast it at 180 C for 10 mins. I used a mortar and pestle to then just crush them into smaller pieces. Add the lemon juice, yogurt and toasted almonds to the apple pieces and just mix well until the apples are coated. Add a pinch of salt. Chill and serve.

My notes:

1. I loved this salad the way it is. But if you'd like some more sourness, add some more lemon juice or if you're not really the types to worry about calories, feel free to add sour cream instead of yogurt.

2. To Indianise this, add some roasted cumin powder/chat masala/garam masala on top before you serve.

3. If you want to keep this sweet, leave out the salt and drizzle some honey or maple syrup on the apples.??

4. There are endless possibilities with this salad. Add some walnuts/pecans/hazelnuts instead of almonds. Jazz it up with some cinnamon/nutmeg powder. Add more fruits like grapes, dried cranberries, raisins, chopped dates etc. Substitute apples with pears. OMG, my mouth's watering now 🙂
Leave a Reply

