Home » Uncategorized » Cardamom flavoured Belgian Waffles with Fresh Mangoes and Maple Syrup

Cardamom flavoured Belgian Waffles with Fresh Mangoes and Maple Syrup

I can eat waffles at any time of the day. I mean, something this delicious, why eat them only for breakfast. Ice cream, fruits, chocolate sauce, coulis, the possibilities are endless.  I’ve been looking to buy a waffle maker for a long time now. Unfortunately, I’ve not been able to find them in India. I was thrilled when the husband found them at Singapore recently! I couldn’t wait to make my first batch of waffles. The monsoon has set it and mangoes are slowly on their way out. So I wanted to have waffles with some fresh mangoes. It was the perfect day for waffles – raining, winding and slightly chilly. 

Here’s how I made it

1 cup flour
11/2 tspn baking powder
1/4 tspn salt
11/2 tbspn sugar
1 egg
1 milk
2 tbspn butter (melted)
3 green cardamoms – de-skinned and powdered

Separate the egg. Mix together the yolk, flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, milk, butter, cardamom powder. Beat the egg whites until it doubles in volume and holds peaks. Mix in the egg white with the rest of the mixture, taking care to not beat out the air. Heat the waffle maker till its hot. Pour the batter in the center and spread it out slightly with a knife if necessary. Close the waffle maker and let it cook according to your instruction manual. Mine took about 7-9 mins to cook. You can figure out when its done when its nice and crusty. Don’t worry if it gets a slightly dark brown colour. 

Serve hot with cut mangoes and drizzle maple syrup all over along with some more melted butter. 

My notes:

  • Its important that you beat the egg whites separately and beat it into the mixture cos this gives the waffle a fluffy inside. 
  • I added cardamom powder to complement the mangoes. Depending of the fruit or ice cream you’re serving the waffle with, you can substitute it for other flavours. 
  • I used salted butter cos I like the salty-sweet taste. But if that’s not your thing, use unsalted butter.

While I’m at it, I might as well show off the lovely Victorinox knifes and peeler that R picked up. I love them! 

PS: My camera is getting serviced and all the pictures were clicked with R’s iPhone. I’m not too unhappy with the pictures! (I can never be completely happy, you know).

3 thoughts on “Cardamom flavoured Belgian Waffles with Fresh Mangoes and Maple Syrup

  1. Don’t comment too often on food posts, that too vegetarian ones, but just had to this time. Tantalizing waffles those!

  2. @shibani, i’ll put up the recipe for that soon!@suhel, thanks man 🙂 i’m thrilled you liked them

Leave a Reply

