Home » Uncategorized » B for Band Baaja Baaraat

B for Band Baaja Baaraat

I attended my first proper Punjabi wedding a few days ago. And boy, was I blown away! A Punjabi wedding is the antithesis of a TamBrahm wedding. It is filled with party, dancing and irreverence. The discussions in the family were all centered around food, party, music, alcohol and makeup! I can’t imagine my parents dancing away at my wedding when there are 100 things to take care of. 

An integral part of these weddings, as I discovered, was the band. They play horrible noisy music that works just fine for the pumped up baaraat! These pictures were taken during the baaraat where everyone was dancing away while the poor groom was scared stiff by the unpredictable horse he was sitting on!
One thought on “B for Band Baaja Baaraat

Leave a Reply

