Home » Nostalgia » RIP..

RIP..

..Google is suspending its Google reader as of today. When I found out about this a few months ago, I was shocked like everyone what cos not only is this one of my favorite Google products but also something I use on a daily basis in addition to Gmail and search. I’ve moved to feedly and have been using it for a couple of months now. I’ve said my goodbyes and made my peace but it still hurts.

Here’s a list of products that Google has retired in the past. (Image courtesy Mashable)

image

Here are some of the retired Google products that I personally miss:

Google Notebook
I always wondered why this didn’t get more famous. It was my favorite bookmarking tool. When it was discontinued, I remember copying tons of links and notes that I had accumulated there into docs on Google docs. Note to self: must check those docs soon. Never know what I might find.

Google labs:
I used to spend hours on Google labs trying to make practical sense of products that seemed all out there. It helped that I was doing this on high speed office internet and of course, office time. I was just going to call this my 20% project.

Picnik:
When picnik was still a part of Flickr, it was my go to image editing software. It was in the initial days of my photography and I was still trying to figure my way around image editing. Made me feel awesome when I could make my pictures look even marginally better. I must admit though that when picnik was taken off Flickr, it motivated me to look for a better and slightly more advanced editing software and that’s when I found Lightroom. Start of another love affair.

What are some of your favorite Google products that have been retired now?

2 thoughts on “RIP..

  1. you are really a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.

    Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a fantastic job in this topic!

Leave a Reply

