Home » being mommy » Why I’d be a lousy mother if I was a SAHM

Why I’d be a lousy mother if I was a SAHM

I read this report about a 11 month old being brutally harassed by his nanny when I was at work a couple of days ago. And my stomach churned. I immediately called up my son’s daycare to check how he was doing. I saw him happily skipping around and having a great time (they have a cctv camera).

I have questioned my decision to get back to a full time job innumerable times in the last 5 months. I have felt like a bad mother for choosing to work instead of staying at home with my son. I was a SAHM for 15 months after he was born. But I have been financially independent since I was 19 and I suddenly had to depend on the husband for money. It’s not for a minute about what he said or how he made me feel. It’s about my principles and how I want to lead my life.

There was a lot of self doubt – am I abandoning my child? Will he judge me for not being around? what if something happens to him because I’m not around 24*7? When he was still settling into daycare and crying quite badly when we dropped him off, I almost called my prospective employer and told him I changed my mind and that I can’t do this. R, who is the more emotional parent of the two of us, told me that I’m overreacting and that I’ll feel differently very soon.

Boy, am I glad I listened to him!

We’re taught to be competitive, study as well as the boys do, get into a good college, work for a great organisation, earn our own living but only until a “good boy” comes into the picture. Some of these “good boys” don’t want their wives’ monies. Wah, what a noble intention. What they really mean to say is that they expect their wives to sit at home and wait for them to get back home. Another thing I’ve heard extremely often, that makes my blood boil is, “I’ve given my wife/daughter-in-law the freedom to do what she chooses to do in life.” I want to ask these people, who made you the boss? Is it not ridiculous if I go tell my husband, I give you the permission to work in any organisation or profession you choose to and I will never stand in your way? Supportive is all anyone can be and it is biggest thing one can be.

R, who has once never come home at 6 in all these years of working, now makes it a point to pick up our son almost everyday. He’s up before me almost everyday and is completely capable of handling baby S on his own. He’s stood by me like a rock even when I’ve doubted myself. And that unflinching support makes me believe I can do this.

I’m away from my son for at least 8 hours a day. I miss him. A lot! But will I have it any other way? No. The financial independence gives me security. Is my self-worth related to money? No. But my self-worth is related to being able to hold a job and do something I’m good at and make money out of it. When I went back to work after a 2 year break, I was worried if I’d be able to work again. What if my brain has atrophied? What if I can’t balance being a mother and work in a full time job at the same time? But 1 week in, I knew I was still good at my job, I was able to meet new people and have funny lunch time conversations (I missed this the most!) and still go back home 6 to cuddle with my son.

If I was a SAHM, I would’ve been a lousy mother. The space to be me and do something just for myself makes me a much better mother. I strongly believe this. Anyone who tells me otherwise, can go jump in the well. This is my life and I will learn to live with my life choices.

14 thoughts on “Why I’d be a lousy mother if I was a SAHM

  1. The caring Mother! The sons have yet to be. May God bless you with vigor and transport enabling you to keep going like a Great Mother.

  2. The space to be me and do something just for myself makes me a much better mother. I strongly believe this. Anyone who tells me otherwise, can go jump in the well. This is my life and I will learn to live with my life choices.http://kanoonquestions.com/badges/I hope it reaches your targetted audience. all the best thank you.Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

  3. Thank you for sharing such a nice and interesting blog with us. i have seen that all will say the same thing repeatedly. But in your blog, I had a chance to get some useful and unique information. I would like to suggest your blog in my dude circle. please keep on updates. hope it might be much useful for us. keep on updating…

Leave a comment